The Governor General's annual salary and allowances provided by the Parliament of Canada are \$48,666 and \$100,000, respectively. In addition, other expenses of office are provided for, including the salary of the Governor General's secretary.

The present Governor General is styled His Excellency Major-General Georges P. Vanier, D.S.O., M.C., C.D.

Name			Date of Appointment			Date of Assumption of Office	
VISCOUNT MONCK, G.C.M.G.	June	1,	1867	July	1,	1867	
LORD LIBGAR, G.C.M.G.	Dec.	29,	1868	Feb.	2,	1869	
The EARL OF DUFFERIN, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G.	May	22,	1872	June	25,	1872	
The MARQUIS OF LORNE , K.T., G.C.M.G	Oct.	5,	1878	Nov.	25,	1878	
The MARQUIS OF LANSDOWNE, G.C.M.G	Aug.	18,	1883	Oct.	23,	1883	
LORD STANLEY OF PRESTON, G.C.B	May	1,	1888	June	11,	1888	
The EARL OF ABERDEEN, K.T., G.C.M.G.	May	22,	1893	Sept.	18,	1893	
The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G.	July	30,	1898	Nov.	12,	1898	
EARL GREY, G.C.M.G.	Sept.	26,	1904	Dec.	10,	1904	
FIELD MARSHAL H. R. H. The DUKE OF CONNAUGHT, K.G	Mar.	21,	1911	Oct.	13,	1911	
The DUKE OF DEVONSHIRE, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O.	Aug.	19,	1916	Nov.	11,	1916	
GENERAL The LORD BYNG OF VIMY, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O.	Aug.	2,	1921	Aug.	11,	1921	
VISCOUNT WILLINGDON OF RATTON, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E.	Aug.	5,	1926	Oct.	2,	1926	
The Earl of Bessborough, G.C.M.G.	Feb.	9,	193 1	Apr.	4,	1931	
LORD TWEEDSMUIR OF ELSFIELD, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., C.H	Aug.	10,	1935	Nov.	2,	1935	
MAJOB-GENERAL The EARL OF ATHLONE, K.G., P.C., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., D.S.O	Apr.	3,	1940	June	21,	1940	
FIELD MARSHAL VISCOUNT ALEXANDER OF TUNIS, K.G., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., C.S.I., D.S.O., M.C., A.D.C.	Aug.	1,	1945	Apr.	12,	1946	
The Right Honourable Vincent Massey, C.H	Jan.	24,	1952	Feb.	28,	1952	
MAJOR-GENERAL GEORGES P. VANIER, D.S.O., M.C., C.D.	Aug.	1,	1959	Sept.	15,	1959	

2.—Governors Gen	ieral of	Canada	since	Confederation,	1867
------------------	----------	--------	-------	----------------	------

The Cabinet.—The Cabinet is a committee of Ministers chosen by the Prime Minister generally from Members of Parliament. By convention, all members of the Cabinet must either have seats in Parliament or secure seats within a short time and, again by convention, all Ministers in charge of departments of government must be members of the House of Commons. Ministers without Portfolio can be members of either House.

The Cabinet, under the leadership of the Prime Minister, directs the business of the Commons, initiates nearly all public Bills placed before Parliament, and has complete responsibility for the initiation of taxes and the recommendation of expenditures. Following established precedent or convention, it is always responsible to the Commons. When the Cabinet (the Government) suffers defeat on a Government Bill or a vote of censure or on a motion of want of confidence in the Commons, the existing Government or Cabinet must either resign or request a dissolution from the Governor General. If it resigns, the Governor General may call on the Leader of the Opposition in the Commons to form a new Government. Alternatively, if a Government that has been defeated in